Tuesday, September 9, 2014

New U2 Album "Songs of Innocence" Out NOW...for FREE

How do you combat the lack of people buying albums? Well, you just give it away for free apparently.

The Temporary Cover of the Free Version of "Songs of Innocence"
U2 (Bono, The Edge, Larry Mullen Jr, Adam Clayton) announced at the Apple iPhone 6 event that their new album, Songs of Innocence, is now out exclusively on iTunes until October 13 for Free, automatically in every users iTunes around the world, where you can listen or download the album for free. Of course that means the album will not count towards the Billboard charts, but for a band like U2 who have sold millions upon millions of albums that really isn't a big deal. You can check for the album here: http://smarturl.it/newu2album.

On October 13 the physical album will be released on CD and Vinyl, containing acoustic versions of the songs as well as four new tracks not on the free digital version, plus other goodies like a book. This may be a smart idea in this age when album sales are at record lows. More people will listen to the free album that normally wouldn't pay for it anyway. Then when the deluxe/physical version comes out the fans who would buy it anyway will get that one. Bono also stated that another album called Songs of Experience may be released in the not too distant future.

So far my favorite song would be "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)", with fuzzed out guitars that scream ROCK. Sorry Gene Simmons, but Rock is not dead, just ask U2, the Foo Fighters, and Paramore among others.

The track listing:
1. The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)
2. Every Breaking Wave
3. California (There is no End to Love)
4. Song for Someone
5. Iris (Hold Me Close)
6. Volcano
7. Raised By Wolves
8. Cedarwood Road
9. Sleep Like a Baby Tonight
10. This Is Where You Can Reach Me
11. The Troubles - Featuring Lykee Li

No comments:

Post a Comment